133 Comments

I think they deserve a far worse fate ... watching CNN for eternity.

Expand full comment

How do I know this is the real Matt now? Your polite apology might be part of an elaborate scam to get me to click the little heart emoji. It worked.

Expand full comment

Hey! I didn't get that spam email. What else am I missing? I want my money's worth for this subscription.

Expand full comment

Start a gofund me for said rocket agenda. I will donate.

Expand full comment

Received my CPAP machine. Breathing much better. Thanks Matt.

Expand full comment

It's really hard to fire anything into the sun, because you have to defeat the momentum of the earth's orbit. But we could fire them into the moon pretty easily, which should do just as well for practical purposes.

Expand full comment

Hey if you're taking candidates I have a list of people who I think should be packed in a rocket and fired into the sun.

I'm thinking that you're going to need a bigger rocket.

Expand full comment

"Personally, I think people who do things like this should be packed in a rocket and fired into the sun."

Mr. Taibbi -- it would be enough for me if the FCC simply began enforcing ITS OWN RULES, and started bringing civil/criminal actions -- with very stiff penalties -- against those who persist in jamming the 'tubes with fraudulent communications. Most spamming/phishing centers are readily identified, and could be confronted ... unfortunately, with "regulatory capture" as prevalent as it currently is in the corrupt US government, I expect matters to remain as they are for the forseeable future --

Expand full comment

I like your solution.

Expand full comment

The powerful CPAP industrial complex is no doubt acting to preempt your upcoming investigative piece into the broad river of money flowing to them from Medicare.

Expand full comment

I would rather be phished by fake Matt than get free content from Pod Save America.

Expand full comment

So does that also mean you're not really a rich Nigerian Prince and that I'm not going to share your Uncles wealth?

Expand full comment

Fucking Russians!!!

Expand full comment

Matt, I know this is not exactly your wheelhouse but I want you and your readers to know about this. Authenticated Pfizer documents logging 1223 deaths THAT THEY KNEW ABOUT within 90 days of EUA release.

Have admired your work for years and so glad you got out of the imploding Rolling Stone. Thank you for your courage.

https://celiafarber.substack.com/p/court-ordered-pfizer-documents-they

Expand full comment

I wouldn't go that easy on the bastards. I'd tie 'em in front of a TV and make 'em listen to the televangelists all day. Actually it's good for them to get to know one another - they'll be at the same level of Dante's Inferno throughout eternity.

Expand full comment

Ha ha, fired into the sun. I agree. Unfortunately, I also think people who use Apple only apps for their subscribers maybe should get the same fate. Not really, because I really do appreciate your work, just not your support of companies that have suicide nets on their Chinese factories. Think about it.

Expand full comment

As an intended target it’s irritating and no doubt I would be angrier if I were in your shoes. But packing them off in a flying skillet seems like overkill. Perhaps a mercifully quick death could be considered? That way we maintain the distinction between phishing or trespass and treason or premeditated murder. Signed, An annoyingly pedantic reader with no sense of humor.

Expand full comment

Draw and quarter them

Expand full comment

Thanks for update, and no worries. It's the hazard of the medium.

Expand full comment

Yes, a SLOW rocket to the Sun! Thanks for the warning.

Expand full comment

The only email I got within the last hour from Substack was from Aaron Maté. Wow. First, he makes up stories about Syria and Russiagate, now he's spamming.

And they say Canadians are so nice. SMH.

Expand full comment

but only after a proper jury trial.

Expand full comment

When it comes to your enemies, you're inspired by the Bungie method? I approve.

Expand full comment

Probably FBI doing the phishing

Expand full comment

I just assumed you'd turned that State Farm gig into a sweet, sweet spokesperson deal for a CPAP company.

Expand full comment

Hey Matt. How’s it going? I didn’t get the first email from you but I would like some more information about this lawsuit. Would you be able to forward me the first email? Thanks and I appreciate what you do.

Expand full comment

Why are you anti-solar?

Expand full comment

good suggestions follow below from fellow subscribers, such as using CNN as a variant of modern water torture. My first thought was being forced to listen to Adam Schiff's mindless blathering.

Expand full comment

I didn't get the phishing message, but then, I didn't get the newsletter either. For some reason, substack is not notifying me when you post. Please speak to them about this.

Expand full comment

".......or so the Germans would have us believe...."

Expand full comment

So, quick question; what's more fun, dealing with spammers, or hosting the abortion debate?

Expand full comment

Matt there is no more sincere form of flattery, right up there with plagiarism and unattributed quotes. You’ve arrived! Bravo.

Expand full comment

It didn't make it to Alaska. Must be this blizzard on the fiberoptic.

Expand full comment

I'm all for the rocket, as long as it does not make Bezos or Musk richer.

Expand full comment

Firing into the sun is one solution. Personally, I think we should bring back the stockades for many modern offenses. The Puritans get a lot of flak, I'm sure often deserved, but the stockades are pure genius. Spammers, phishers, gaslighters, people who can't drive sanely, people who are rude to service people, people who cut in line... the uses would be virtually endless.

Expand full comment

I agree with your solution. Let's get Bezos an Musk on it asap!

Expand full comment

i like the rocket and sun idea. where is the go fund me for that.

Expand full comment

Apology accepted Matt!

Expand full comment

What a cool (not) fate for those swine! Maybe suspend their sentence as long as they promised never to do something like that again? Maybe a long Summer walk under a heat-dome might give them something to think about?

Expand full comment

Would be great to have the subject line identified

Expand full comment

It would have to be a very big rocket, but yeah.

Expand full comment

...should be butt-packed with a (small?) rocket and fired into the sun. Kinda like in Doctor Strangelove, only a more intimate arrangement.

Expand full comment

Thanks for the heads up. I can recommend Protonmail, they are fantastic at keeping all spammy malicious stuff away.

Expand full comment

Thank you!

Expand full comment

I'm sympathetic, I had a phishing takeover of my work email this year and it was a disaster. I say find the building where even one person involved did the work and drop a drone on it.

Expand full comment

I'm insulted the spammer thought your followers were clueless & gullible enough to fall for that, Matt. Tell them that shit's for the world's Michael Tracey subscribers, not here.

Expand full comment

A wonderful topic, Matt, for a future Article. Why is it that the (purportedly) most powerful and technically sophisticated nation on the face of the earth cannot deal with these multitudinous and ever-increasing web/phone scams? Inquiring minds want to know.

Expand full comment

Don’t need a rocket. A fall from any height over five stories should accomplish the same thing; if you want ‘em to suffer drop them vertically from three.

Expand full comment

I feel somewhat left out because I didn't get the SPAM/Phishing email. womp womp.

Expand full comment

The Chaos Monkeys have stepped up their Substack Attacks!

Expand full comment